Coronavirus Update - PLAYHOUSE Whitely Bay

Public safety continues to be our priority. We’re doing all we can to keep you safe at our venue. Please remember we do not permit backpacks or large bags and you will be screened upon arrival. Read more about our safety policy here Read more  Read more
Coronavirus (COVID-19) update - The safety and wellbeing of all our visitors and staff is our number one priority at all times. Read More

Coronavirus Update

Posted on 13 March 2020

Article update 18/03/2020 at 12:00 and affected events 30/03/20 at 11:45.

Following official government advice issued on Monday 16 March, strongly urging people to avoid unnecessary travel and non-essential social contact including at pubs, clubs, theatres and other such entertainment venues, we regret to announce that The Playhouse Whitley Bay, in collaboration with event promoters, has taken the decision to temporarily postpone events until the end of March. We are actively seeking clarity from the government regarding its announcement and the impact on venues such as ours.
 
We take the health and safety of our guests and employees very seriously and we will continue to monitor the situation and the threat of COVID-19 globally with advice from the World Health Organisation and Public Health England, as well as that of the local government.
 
It is our intention to re-commence the holding of events as soon as possible, following further government advice. The team at The Playhouse is working hard to provide alternative dates for these events and, where possible, we expect rescheduled dates to be confirmed over the coming weeks. Tickets will automatically be transferred to the rescheduled event date. Where an event cannot be rescheduled it will be cancelled and tickets will be refunded in line with the promoter’s ticketing policy.
 
Thank you for your continued understanding and support during these extraordinary times.
 
Affected events:

The Fureys - Friday 20th March 2020 - new date: Friday 28th August 2020

The Leonard Brown Show - Sunday 22nd March 2020 - new date: Sunday 19th September 2021

Friends The Musical Parody – Tuesday 24th March 2020 – new date: Friday 19th March 2021

St Thomas Moore presents High School Musical – 25th-26th March 2020 – cancelled

Havana Nights – Friday 27th March 2020 – cancelled

Marian Lane Dance School – Saturday 28th March 2020 – new date: Sunday 20th September 2020

Wannabe: The Spice Girls Show – Sunday 29th March 2020 – new date: Friday 14th August 2020

Illegal Eagles – Friday 3rd April 2020 – new date Thursday 27th August 2020

Agnes Obel - Saturday 4th April 2020 – new date: Wednesday 2nd September 2020

Woman Like Me: The Little Mix Show – Monday 6th April 2020 – new date: Tuesday 18th August 2020

All Our Yesterdays – Tuesday 7th April – new date: Wednesday 7th October 2020

An Audience with Cannon & Ball – Wednesday 8th April – new date: Friday 5th February 2021

The Carpenters Story - Saturday 11th April 2020 - new date: Thursday 15th April 2021

Wizard of Oz Pantomime - 13th-14th April 2020 - new date: 31st March - 1st April 2021

Menopause the Musical 2 - 22nd April 2020 - new date: Tuesday 23rd March 2021

Banff Mountain Film Festival - 23rd-24th April - new dates: Tuesday 24th - Wednesday 25th November 2020

WBOS presents Annie - 28th April - 2nd May 2020 - new dates: 27th - 31st October 2020

Big Girls Don't Cry - Thursday 7th May 2020 - new date: Thursday 4th February 2021

Mercury - Friday 8th May 2020 - new date: Thursday 5th November 2020

The Take That Experience - Thursday 14th May 2020 - new date: Saturday 12th September 2020

A Vision of Elvis - Saturday 16th May 2020 - new date: Friday 21st August 2020

Only Fools & Boycie - Sunday 17th May 2020 - new date: Monday 24th August 2020.

George Hinchcliffe's Ukulele Orchestra of Great Britain - 28th May 2020 - new date: Saturday 12th September 2020

Wilko Johnson & Special Guest John Otway - 22nd May 2020 - new date: Thursday 11th February 2021